Affected boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios can be detected by the above codes.

General Mills Recalls 1.8M Boxes Of Cheerios, Because Gluten-Free Cereal Shouldn’t Include Wheat

Just months after General Mills revamped its Cheerios brand, introducing several gluten-free varieties, the company has recalled 1.8 million boxes of supposedly gluten-free Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios because the breakfast food might contain wheat — an ingredient that is decidedly not free of gluten.  [More]


Why Is Food That Doesn’t Contain Any Grains Labeled ‘Gluten-Free’?

In the last few years, you may have noticed two words appearing on the front of food packages in stores and in your own cupboard. “Gluten-Free,” they brag. That’s nice, but gluten is a substance found in wheat and some other cereal grains. Why do foods that never would have included wheat in the first place boast on their labels about their lack of gluten? [More]

(Morton Fox)

It’s Time To Make The Gluten-Free Donuts, Says Dunkin’

If you had been asked to predict which national fast-food chain would be the first to offer gluten-free products, you probably wouldn’t have picked Dunkin’ Donuts, whose very name seems like it should be covered in wheat flour, but the company says it will be selling both gluten-free donuts and muffins in all its U.S. stores. [More]


Missouri Legislator Pushing For Gluten-Free Shampoo Labels

I have a very good friend who figured out, by process of elimination, that she has a gluten intolerance. At first, it was tough — she suffered through a lot of bland, yucky and just bad-tasting products back in 2005 and became an excellent gluten-free chef in her own right because of it. Fast forward to now, and the food industry has caught on and made the world of gluten allergies a much friendlier place to eat in. One Missouri legislator wants to extend that trend to the cosmetic industry with a new bill. [More]