Bank Of America Gets Back To Foreclosing In Some States

Ten days after announcing a freeze to foreclosures in all 50 states, Bank of America announced on Monday that it was time to get back to the business of foreclosing on homes in 23 of those states.

BofA will unfreeze foreclosures in the 23 states that require judicial approval to foreclose.

Those states are:
Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, Wisconsin.

From Reuters:

In the remaining 27 states, Bank of America’s foreclosure halt will continue, though it projects that less than 30,000 foreclosures will be affected in those areas.

The bank said the first of 102,000 amended foreclosure affidavits will be filed on October 25 with state courts.

Let’s just hope BofA does a better job foreclosing this time around than they’ve done in the past.

BofA to partially end foreclosure halt [Reuters]

Want more consumer news? Visit our parent organization, Consumer Reports, for the latest on scams, recalls, and other consumer issues.