Instagram Now Lets Users Auto-Save Content, “Mute” Others’ Stories

Last month, Instagram took a page from Snapchat by launching a “stories” option that allows users to compile photos or video for sharing on their profiles. Today, the company attempted to slightly differentiate its feature, enabling an auto-save function and mute option. 

The Verge reports that Instagram’s latest update allows users to automatically save content posted as stories. Until now, these photos and videos could not be saved through the app.

instagram-stroies

Unlike Snapchat’s “Memories” function, which allows users to save their photos or videos on a case-by-case basis, Instagram’s option saves everything or nothing.

That means in order to save any of your temporary photos or videos, you have to enable auto-save for all of them. To enable auto-save, users tap the gear icon in Story mode and select the “save shared photos.”

Today’s second big change to stories is the ability to ignore those friends whose stories are just them making stupid faces, or who abuse the new feature by posting photos and videos every few minutes.

Under “Story Settings,” you can choose which friends’ stories feeds to mute. This removes their content from the stories auto-play queue so you don’t have to keep tapping past the 100 images of them testing different angles of the same outfit.

If you change your mind, deciding you want to see that person’s story, you can “unmute” the content by once again holding down on the bubble and tapping “unmet”.

Instagram now lets you save your own stories and mute others [The Verge]