Are Fireworks Legal In My State?

It’s about that time again — when patriotic Americans from every walk of life celebrate the violent birth of this great nation by blowing shit up. We love it. That’s why we’d like to help make sure you’re aware of your state’s (potentially uncool) laws regarding fireworks. We’ve posted the CPSC’s summary of state regulations inside. Enjoy.

Keep in mind, local ordinances may apply. Don’t end up like this poor guy who accidentally drove over a stretch of road that had been annexed by Houston after legally buying fireworks and got slapped with a $500 to $2,000 fine.

From the CPSC:

The following is a summary of state regulations as of June 1, 2008.

I. STATES THAT ALLOW SOME OR ALL TYPES OF CONSUMER FIREWORKS (formerly known as class C fireworks), APPROVED BY ENFORCING AUTHORITY, OR AS SPECIFIED IN LAW (39 states, District of Columbia and Puerto Rico):

Alabama
Alaska
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Indiana
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Mexico
Nevada
North Carolina
North Dakota
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

(The District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, in addition to the above states enforce the federal regulations and applicable state restrictions.)).

II. STATES THAT ALLOW ONLY SPARKLERS AND/OR OTHER NOVELTIES (total of 5 states):

Illinois
Iowa
Maine
Ohio
Vermont

III. STATES THAT ALLOW ONLY NOVELTY FIREWORKS – (total of 1 state):

Arizona

IV. STATES THAT BAN ALL CONSUMER FIREWORKS (including those which are allowed by CPSC regulations) – (total of 5 states):

Delaware
Massachusetts
New Jersey
New York
Rhode Island

Houston’s short fuse [Houston Chronicle]
Fireworks Fact Sheet [CPSC]
(Photo: The Joy Of The Mundane )