Domino's Gluten-Free Pizza Not For People Who Need Gluten-Free Pizza The Most

While there are a number of people out there trying to cut down on the amount of wheat gluten they consume, it’s people with celiac disease that truly need to avoid the protein. So while Domino’s Pizza has been touting its new gluten-free crust option, the pizza people admit it shouldn’t be eaten by those with celiac.

The new crust has been given the “Amber Designation” by the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. That means that the ingredients used meet NFCA standards and staff has received basic training on the topic. According to the NFCA, “those with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity should ask questions and exercise judgment when dining at an establishment with an Amber Designation.”

The main issue with Domino’s is possible cross-contamination in the kitchen. The only way for the eateries to truly go gluten-free would be to enforce very strict handling rules (for which Domino’s is not exactly famous) or switch all its items over to being gluten-free.

Thus, Domino’s is pushing the product to those with “mild gluten sensitivity.”

On its Facebook page, the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America takes issue with the decision to call the pizza “gluten-free” but make something that people with celiac can’t eat.

“GIG believes ALL persons with gluten-related disorders should be treated the equally and deserve the same safety in their food choices,” writes the group.

Domino’s new gluten-free pizza crust not recommended for people with celiac disease [CBS News]