Watch Out For Pointless Self-Replicating Spam Facebook Application

Watch out for “[A friend] commented on a photo of you” notifications on Facebook. If you click on the notification and it asks you to install an application called “Your Photos,” RUN AWAY. Your friend didn’t comment on any photos of you, and the application exists to coax people to click on banner ads.

Once you install the application, your friends in turn receive a notice that you commented on a photo of them. Ha ha! Self-replicating!

Here’s the actual application screen, once it’s installed:



The “Continue” button is part of the banner ad, not a useful part of the application. Not that sending a hideous 3D smiley is something you would want to do, anyway.

“Your Photos” [Application page]