Customers Suing General Mills Over Recalled “Gluten-Free” Cheerios That Contained Wheat

Customers Suing General Mills Over Recalled “Gluten-Free” Cheerios That Contained Wheat

Whenever a company recalls a product on a large scale, lawsuits are sure to follow. General Mills’ recall of 1.8 million boxes of supposedly gluten-free Cheerios that could have possibly contained wheat is no different: two shoppers have filed a lawsuit against the food giant, claiming the company sold a misbranded product.



Why Is Food That Doesn’t Contain Any Grains Labeled ‘Gluten-Free’?

In the last few years, you may have noticed two words appearing on the front of food packages in stores and in your own cupboard. “Gluten-Free,” they brag. That’s nice, but gluten is a substance found in wheat and some other cereal grains. Why do foods that never would have included wheat in the first place boast on their labels about their lack of gluten? [More]

Maker of Oreos, Ritz Crackers Expands Into Allergen-Free Snacks With Purchase Of Enjoy Life Foods

Maker of Oreos, Ritz Crackers Expands Into Allergen-Free Snacks With Purchase Of Enjoy Life Foods

Mondelez International, the company behind Oreo, Wheat Thins, Honey Maid and hundreds of other brands is adding more than 40 allergen-free snacks to its long roster of treats with the purchase of “free from” company, Enjoy Life Foods. [More]

(Adam A. Koch)

Coors And Pizza Hut Announce Gluten-Free Options So Everyone Can Enjoy Pizza And Beer

What goes together better than pizza and beer? Nothing, that’s what. Sure the combination might not be readily available for everyone – specifically consumers who are allergic to gluten – but two companies are looking to change that. MillerCoors and Pizza Hut each announced today that they will soon offer gluten-free versions of the gastronomical staples, albeit in small sections of the U.S. [More]

(Chris Rief aka Spodie Odie)

Girl Scouts Announce Upcoming Season Will Include New Gluten-Free Flavors

The time of our national waistline expansion is approaching, and this time Girl Scout cookie season won’t be limited only to those who can tolerate gluten: The girls’ group announced that the 2015 season will include three new flavors, two of which are gluten-free.



New Gluten-Free Labeling Rules Go Into Effect This Week

(Your Protagonist)

Safeway’s “Gluten Free” Shelf Labels Could Use Some Work

We commend Safeway for making it easier for customers with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity to find products that they can eat on the store shelves. However, it’s probably not such a good idea to just go around printing any old shelf tags on the “Gluten Free” paper once you run out of other paper. [More]

Is Labeling Vodka As Gluten-Free Just Another Marketing Gimmick?

Is Labeling Vodka As Gluten-Free Just Another Marketing Gimmick?

Gluten! It’s all the rage. Or at least, avoiding it has become popular even for those don’t suffer from celiac disease, making gluten-free products a potential moneymaker for companies who’ve seized on the marketing power of such products. But when it comes to smacking a gluten-free label on vodka and other distilled spirits, is it all just another way to get a buck out of customers? [More]

(♪ fotodisignorina ♪...)

No More Fending Off Carb-Crumby Lips: There’s Now A Gluten-Free Dating Site

It can be tricky enough to maintain a gluten-free diet, but how are you supposed to fend off wheaty crumbs on the lips of romantic partners? You don’t have to anymore, gluten-free diners. There’s a special site just for you,, “where you never have to feel alone, awkward, or a burden because you are gluten-free.”Now you can focus on weeding out the sociopathic murderers! [via BetaBeat]


(ktvorwald) None of that.

FDA Sets Rules For Gluten-Free Food Labels

In recent years much has been made of gluten — people with celiac disease can’t eat it and others simply want to keep their diets free of it. But until now, there hasn’t been any official word from on high regarding how to actually define what makes a gluten-free food. The Food and Drug Administration is changing that with a final rule on what characteristics a food must have in order to be really and truly gluten-free. [More]

(Atwater Village Newbie)

The Best Cities For Gluten-Free Takeout Are… Kind Of Surprising, Actually

I’ve gotta say, at first, upon reading a headline about which cities in America are the most gluten-free-friendly for takeout orders, some of our nation’s biggest metropolises popped to mind. But upon perusing the list, there are quite a few somewhat surprising locales on the list, while other big diet-fad crazy cities are noticeably absent. [More]

(Morton Fox)

It’s Time To Make The Gluten-Free Donuts, Says Dunkin’

If you had been asked to predict which national fast-food chain would be the first to offer gluten-free products, you probably wouldn’t have picked Dunkin’ Donuts, whose very name seems like it should be covered in wheat flour, but the company says it will be selling both gluten-free donuts and muffins in all its U.S. stores. [More]

Domino's Gluten-Free Pizza Not For People Who Need Gluten-Free Pizza The Most

Domino's Gluten-Free Pizza Not For People Who Need Gluten-Free Pizza The Most

While there are a number of people out there trying to cut down on the amount of wheat gluten they consume, it’s people with celiac disease that truly need to avoid the protein. So while Domino’s Pizza has been touting its new gluten-free crust option, the pizza people admit it shouldn’t be eaten by those with celiac.


Kroger: Where "Gluten-Free" Means "May Contain Wheat"

Kroger: Where "Gluten-Free" Means "May Contain Wheat"

People with food allergies or sensitivities know that no matter what the colorful claims on the front of a food’s package might be, you still need to chEck the ingredients. Briana writes that her recent experience at Kroger brought this point home. The front of a chicken broth carton declared the product to be “gluten-free,” but the side of the package said “may contain wheat.” Which is it? While food packaging might brag that its contents are gluten-free, such labels aren’t yet regulated by the FDA. In the case of Briana and Kroger, this led to some confusion.