Reader Margaret has a holiday dilemma. She was ready to start guzzling her favorite Lactaid-brand lactose-free egg nog, and was delighted to find a carton. Then she opened it. She was horrified to discover that her beloved nog had changed. This year’s version is an egg-free “holiday nog,” which some fans like but Margaret can’t get into. “It tastes like sadness and chemicals,” she wrote to Consumerist. She did not clarify what sadness tastes like. [More]
Eggnog has gotten a bad reputation over the years. And it’s understandable — the stuff is a combination of delicious holiday drink and very very bad idea for the next day. Even without alcohol, eggnog packs a whopping, creamy punch. So when you chug a quart of eggnog in about 12 seconds, things are not going to go well.
This is what Nicole’s fiancé wants: egg nog. He’s lactose intolerant, and he knows that Lactaid brand egg nog exists. Somewhere. It’s on the market, but Nicole and the future Mr. Nicole haven’t been able to find it anywhere in their area. Yes, he could take a dose of lactase enzyme and drink regular nog, but wouldn’t the lactose-free version be better if it does exist? Nicole wrote to the company to see whether they could help her find it, and they were… surprisingly unhelpful. [More]