Facebook Makes “Friends Only” The Privacy Default For New Users

Facebook Makes “Friends Only” The Privacy Default For New Users

For years, when new users joined Facebook, the default privacy setting had been to share your every baby photo/quote of the day/quiz result/divisive political rant with the public at large. Users had to opt into higher levels of privacy to limit their updates to smaller groups. But today Facebook announced that the default setting for new users is to only share posts with folks on their lists of friends. [More]