Blippy Realizes People Don't Want A Social Network Where You Share All Your Credit Card Purchases Online

Blippy Realizes People Don't Want A Social Network Where You Share All Your Credit Card Purchases Online

Blippy was a weird social networking site where users entered in their credit card information and then it let you publicly broadcast everything you purchased online. A year and a half after its launch, they’ve realized that no one really wants to do that and have decided to shut down that part of the site and reformat. [More]

One Of The "Blippy Four" Speaks Out On Credit Card Leak

One Of The "Blippy Four" Speaks Out On Credit Card Leak

It’s been a bad day for Blippy.com, the site lots of people hadn’t heard of until it managed to leak the whole credit card numbers of four users to the entire internet. Now, one of the four people whose digits are in the public domain has come forward to talk. [More]

Blippy: "We Take Security Seriously"

Blippy: "We Take Security Seriously"

After this morning’s revelation that Blippy.com — the site for people who think foursquare isn’t enough oversharing — had somehow leaked users’ credit card numbers to anyone with Google, the company wants everyone to know that the problem is not as big as it seems and, yes, they are taking it seriously. [More]

Blippy Revealing Users' Credit Card Numbers To Internet

Blippy Revealing Users' Credit Card Numbers To Internet

UPDATE: Blippy is taking this seriously. [More]

Upgrades: Blippy Lets You Screen Out Single Purchases

Upgrades: Blippy Lets You Screen Out Single Purchases

Blippy launched a few months ago as a service that lets you plug in your credit card and broadcasts online every single purchase you make. For people looking for public accountability about what they spend money on, or just another social networking vanity trip, it’s pretty neat. But maybe there’s certain things that come in brown paper bags that you don’t want your mother stumbling across. Rolling out along with a Facebook-esque site redesign, Blippy has added a new privacy feature that lets you manually screen out individual purchases before the hit the net, and your mom hits the roof. To use it, [More]