



February 10, 2016

The Honorable John Thune, Chairman
The Honorable Bill Nelson, Ranking Member
Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
512 Dirksen Senate Building
Washington DC, 20510

Dear Senator Thune and Senator Nelson:

On behalf of the consumers of the signatory states, we write to urge the Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation to pass the "Help Americans Never Get Unwanted Phone calls Act of 2015" or "HANGUP" Act. The HANGUP Act repeals a recent amendment to the Telephone Consumer Protection Act (TCPA) allowing debt collection robocalls to consumers' cell phones. By passing the HANGUP Act, the federal government has the opportunity to stop the barrage of debt collection robocalls that can be misdialed, at times harassing and frustrating our citizens who pay for such calls to their cellular numbers.

Each year, the largest number of consumer complaints our offices receive are about unwanted telemarketing calls, with robocalls and debt collection calls at the top of the list. Prior to the amendment, the TCPA prohibited all robocalls to cell phones. This prohibition protected consumers and provided a mechanism to combat these unwanted calls. As amended, the TCPA now permits citizens to be bombarded by unwanted and previously illegal robocalls to their cell phones if the calls are made pursuant to the collection of debt owed to or guaranteed by the United States. It is inappropriate to grant debt collectors the right to harass citizens simply because the debt has a nexus to the federal government when the law specifically prohibits all other private and public entities, including political callers, from doing so.

As state Attorneys General, we are on the front lines of consumer protection for millions of Americans harassed by unwanted and unwelcome robocalls. Our offices work diligently to prosecute those who violate state and federal laws intended to prevent such calls. However, the recent amendment to the TCPA is a step backward in our law enforcement efforts.

The Federal Communications Commission ("FCC") recognizes the proliferation of robocalling and the need to combat these unwanted calls. On June 18, 2015, the FCC formally adopted a rule change which states that federal law does not prohibit telecommunication service providers from offering, upon a

customer's request, services intended to block unwanted calls. This clarification moved enforcement efforts forward and armed consumers with ways to prevent unwanted calls.

The Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation has the opportunity to further advance these efforts and provide citizens with much needed protection from unwanted calls. By passing the HANGUP Act to repeal the TCPA amendment, citizens will benefit from the prohibition of all robocalls to cell phones, regardless of the content of the call. We urge you to act without delay.

Respectfully,

Con	7~61	1~~
Greg	Z.001	iei

Markis

Indiana Attorney General

Mark Brnovich

Arizona Attorney General

George Jepsen

Connecticut Attorney General

Doug Chin

Hawaii Attorney General

Andy Beshear

Kentucky Attorney General

Brian Frosh

Maryland Attorney General

in & france

Chris Koster

Missouri Attorney General

Cynthia H. Coffman

Colorado Attornéy General

Karl A. Racine

District of Columbia Attorney General

Derek Schmidt

Kansas Attorney General

Yanet Mills

Maine Attorney General

Maura Healey

Massachusetts Attorney General

Lori Swanson
Minnesota Attorney General

Tim Fox

Montana Attorney General

Hector Balderas

New Mexico Attorney General

Roy Cooper

North Carolina Attorney General

Peter F. Kilmartin

Rhode Island Attorney General

Sean Reyes

Utah Attorney General

Jim Hood

Mississippi Attorney General

Joseph Foster

New Hampshire Attorney General

Eric T. Schneiderman

New York Attorney General

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Attorney General

Herbert H. Slatery, III

Tennessee Attorney General

William H. Sorrell

Vermont Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson

Washington Attorney General

Copy: The Honorable Paul Ryan, Speaker, United States House of Representatives

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Minority Leader, United States House of Representatives

The Honorable Mitch McConnell, Majority Leader, United States Senate

The Honorable Harry Reid, Minority Leader, United States Senate