Want To Spy On Your Friends' Bank Accounts? Lend Them Your iPhone!

Letting someone borrow your iPhone to log in to their bank’s app quickly, then log back out is no big deal, right? Like letting a friend borrow your computer to check their web-based e-mail. They log in, they log out, they leave no trace. Unless it’s Chase’s iPhone app. Then you get all of their account alerts, no matter what you do. (Short of deleting the app, we assume.)

Tanner wrote in with this warning:

If you have let a friend login to their Chase account with your iPhone chase app, then you will automatically begin receiving “alerts” defined by that user to your phone. Even after the user has logged off of their session on my iPhone, I still receive account alerts and am told exactly what their balance is when it hits a given threshold, defined automatically (or set custom) by the owner of that account.

Unfortunately, I have no way to stop it. Chase instructions tell the account owner to login to their account and simply change what the alerts should be, but never is there an option for me to revoke receiving alerts to my iPhone in behalf of their account. I seem to be stuck receiving their personal financial information.