It's Time To Get Your HFCS-Free Kosher-For-Passover Coke & Pepsi!

The Jewish holiday of Passover is coming up, which means that Coca-Cola and Pepsi put out special versions of their signature beverages that contain regular old sugar and not high fructose corn syrup.

While Coke’s regular formula is considered kosher most of the year, the inclusion of HFCS in the formula puts it in the category of Kitniyot, foods that are not allowed to be consumed during Passover.

So in addition to going with the HFCS-less formula for this version, these batches are also certified and are usually distinguished by bright yellow, stamped caps like the one seen here. Pepsi for Passover has a white cap on the bottle, though we haven’t seen any of that on store shelves yet this year.