Sony Says It Can Take Away Data, Content With Updates At Will

Sloopydrew says Sony sent him a new terms of service email with some harrowing declarations about the company’s rights to screw with your gadgets as it sees fit — sort of a retroactive justification for taking away the ability to install another operating system on the PS3 hard drive.

He writes:

In the new Terms of Service released yesterday (and announced in an email that I was sent today), Sony has added stealth updates that may take away any and all functionality of the PS3 and/or PSP with no recourse against Sony from the customer. From the new User “Agreement”:

“From time to time, it may become necessary for SCEA to provide certain content to you to ensure that Sony Online Services and content offered through Sony Online Services, your PlayStation 3 computer entertainment system, the PSP (PlayStation Portable) system or other SCEA-authorized hardware is functioning properly in accordance with SCEA guidelines.

“Some content may be provided automatically without notice when you sign in. Such content may include automatic updates or upgrades which may change your current operating system, cause a loss of data or content or cause a loss of functionalities or utilities.”

If you don’t like it? Go f*ck yourself, says Sony. From the email Sony sent me an hour ago:

“If you do not agree with the new Terms of Service and User Agreement or Privacy Policy, please contact Customer Service to terminate your PlayStation(R) Network account(s) and do not visit PlayStation(R) Network or our websites.”

Wow.

UPDATE: A reader points out the terms of service have been this way since 2006.

Is everyone excited about this joyous new announcement?