Someone From Arkansas Is Selling Wiis For Only $99!!!
Quick, type in all of your credit card information before he runs out of inventory! Omgwtf $99 Wiis! The website, www.wiifor99.com—which is being advertised on Facebook, according to a reader—consists of the two screens shown above and that's it. What a lazy con. Since the site no longer exists, here are two screencaps we took of it on Wednesday night. Index page. Order form.
Justin writes,
"While surfing Facebook today, I saw an ad for the Wii going for $99. It immediately set off my spider sense. The site was just registered to a guy out of Fayetteville, AR, but under a false name? The phone number listed is for a different Peter.(Thanks to Justin!)
This is a test using rich text formatting and html links. It's the generic "company" ad that should appear on all posts with the Company category if they don't have an ad attached to a specific company.
Comments:
I somehow don't think John took me seriously:
Welcome to Earthlink LiveChat. Your chat session will begin shortly.
Chat Information'John V' says: Thank you for contacting EarthLink LiveChat, how may I help you today?
noaddress@earthlink.com: Hi John, I'm contacting you to report fraud and ID theft using your hosting
noaddress@earthlink.com: The address is [www.wiifor99.com]
noaddress@earthlink.com: I guess the proper term would be phishing
noaddress@earthlink.com: People have reported that after the Credit Card info is collected, the site ends.
noaddress@earthlink.com: The site is being advertised on Facebook
John V: Hi, I will assist you.
noaddress@earthlink.com: I know you will. :) Scams like this are just scummy.
noaddress@earthlink.com: Granted, not everyone is as smart to recognize how bogus this site is. I'm sure you guys are all for stopping Phishing scams like this from happening.
John V: You need to take down the index page and completely rebuild it and update the passwords.
noaddress@earthlink.com: It's not my site
noaddress@earthlink.com: It's a site one of your hosting customers is advertising on Facebook to scam gullible people.
John V: [www.earthlink.net]
John V: Click on the above link and go through it.
John V: [www.earthlink.net]
John V: Check the above link instead of the first one.
noaddress@earthlink.com: Thank you John, I appreciate the assistance. :)
John V: You're welcome and thank you for using EarthLink LiveChat. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us again.
John V: Bye.
noaddress@earthlink.com: That form only seems to allow me to report fraudulent emails
noaddress@earthlink.com: Not a site hosted on your network
noaddress@earthlink.com: Are you still with me John?
noaddress@earthlink.com: ?
John V: [www.irs.gov],,id=155682,00.html
John V: This third party web site link is provided by EarthLink as a convenience to you. The content or software provided on this web site is not owned or maintained by EarthLink. EarthLink is not responsible for the information, software downloads, or other material, on this third party web site. Any software you download from a third party site is subject to the license terms contained on that site.
John V: Check the above link.
noaddress@earthlink.com: I see. Ok, well thank you again for trying. Hopefully a lot of people won't give out their personal information before the govenment can react.
John V: You're welcome and thank you for using EarthLink LiveChat. Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us again.
Chat InformationChat session has been ended by the agent.
@Captain Sassypants: Right now there's a 12 year old somewhere, grabbing a credit card from his sleeping mom's purse and buying at least one for himself.
The hosting account was probably created using the registrant's credit card info and address - without his knowledge.
I also tried to "buy" one using a fake credit card number (but one that passes the algorithmic checks for validity - i use this to test my own shopping carts), and got an immediate error that my card number was invalid - didn't even try to process the card.
I'm sure it's set up to forward all this shit to some guy in eastern Europe.
Well he first messed up by using Earthlink, Earthlink is a scientology ran business, the owner Sky Dayton is a Scientologist and participant along with his wife. They also run Helio the mobile phone no matter what they try to tell you helio is ran by earthlink which is in turn ran by scientologists.
@CHIEDDY - Done and done. Reported to phishing-report@us-cert.gov and
reportphishing@antiphishing.org
Not necessarily the police, but one would hope that it will eventually bubble up to them.
And don't harass the site owner. Either this guy is a grade-A dumbass who doesn't know what WHOIS is, or the actual site owner just scammed this poor guy's credit card. Either way, let law enforcement do their job.
Golly everyone is a bunch of negative Nellies. Maybe each of his friends and relatives got him a Wii for Christmas, and he just had too, too many. And instead of selling them for an outrageous price on ebay he thought "I won't take advantage of the poor souls who weren't able to get one. I'll be kind and generous and sell them for only $99 so those sad, desperate gamers can have one and enjoy the joyousness that is a Wii."
My buddy Hugh Jass just ordered 10 of them, but his card numbers apparently don't pass. I suspect nothing is going to get charged to a card right away, this crook is just logging all of the entries to go over later, maybe make some real cards from.
Feel free to spam his lists all day long with garbage.
@tmccartney: He wouldn't have to...if it is a credit card scam, he just needs the info, and then he rejects it all, so people are like? So all credit card numbers, fake or not, will be rejected, then it goes into his database.
@tmccartney: Anything you put in there gets rejected. That way you scramble through your wallet for another card give Cpt. Schmuck there a much better chance of ripping you off.





















No https...tsk tsk